Skip Navigation

What is Accelerated Reader?

AR is a computer program that helps teachers and librarians manage and monitor children’s independent reading practice.

Your child picks a book at his or her own level and reads at his or her own pace. When finished, your child takes a short quiz on the computer. Passing the quiz indicates that your child understood what was read. AR gives children, teachers, and librarians feedback based on the quiz results, which the teacher and librarian then use to help your child set goals and direct ongoing reading practice.

Children using AR choose their own books to read, rather than having one assigned to them. This makes reading a much more enjoyable experience as they can choose books that are interesting to them. Teachers and librarians help your child choose books at an appropriate readability level that are challenging without being frustrating, ensuring that your child can pass the quiz and experience success.

If your child does not do well on the quiz, the teacher or librarian may:

•             Help your child choose another book that is more appropriate.

•             Ask more probing questions as your child reads and before your child takes a quiz.

•             Pair your child with another student.

•             Have the book read to your child.

In most cases, children really enjoy taking the quizzes. Since they are reading books at their reading and interest levels, they are likely to be successful. This is satisfying for most children. Best of all, they learn and grow at their own pace.


What Is the ATOS Book Level?

Book level represents the difficulty of the text and is determined using the ATOS readability formula. For example, a book level of 4.5 means the text could likely be read independently by a student whose reading skills are at the level of a typical fourth-grader in the fifth month of school. The content of the book, however, may or may not be appropriate. The interest level will give you a recommendation regarding the appropriateness of the content.


What Is the Interest Level?

The interest level attached to the book indicates age group appropriateness. Interest level is based on a book's content including theme, characterization, and plot. The interest levels are based on the recommendations of the publisher and/or literary book reviews by professional organizations. However, the final decision on whether the content of a book is appropriate for a particular child is left to parents, school librarians, and teachers.

To help you choose the books most appropriate for your children, Accelerated Reader quizzes are divided into four interest levels:

•             LG (Lower Grades, K–3)

•             MG (Middle Grades, 4–8)

•             MG+ (Middle Grades Plus, 6 and up)

•             UG (Upper Grades, 9–12)